The best community driven Local Municipality on provision of sustainable services and developmental programmes.

About Us| Council Structure| Municipal Structure| Municipal Services | Community Services | Geographic Info| Contact Us

click link to download the Supplier Onboarding Form

Borehole: Conditions for approval

New e-Service System

The new Munsoft e-Service protal is ready and available where you can register and view your municipal accounts. This will be the municipal accounts from 1 July 2017.

The current e-Service system and STLM Basic App will not be updated from August 2017.
You will therfore just be able to get older statements from the current systems.

You are hereby requested to register on the new e-Service system and link your accounts to your new profile that you will create when you register. The service is free of charge.
Please follow these steps:

  1. Open your web browser, insert into your URL and click enter

  2. Click register > insert details > click register at the bottom of the online registration form

    Please look at the complexity of the password:
    Password complexity requirement:
    • Minimum length is 8
    • Must contain at least one number
    • Must contain at least one special character
    • Must contain at least one lowercase letter
  3. The system will send you an activation e-mail to the e-mail address entered in your online registration form, open the e-mail and click the 'Click Here' link to activate your account

  4. Open your web browser, insert into your URL and click enter

  5. Click login > Click consumer tab > insert username > insert password > Click login

  6. Insert your account number > Insert your Internet PIN (Top left hand section of your statement, just above the METER READINGS block) > Click Link

  7. You may add more accounts by clicking on the My accounts button in the top left menu

  8. Your profile information is available from the Profile button in the top right menu. You can update your information there

  9. In the event that you lost your password, you can click the Lost Password? button in the top right menu of the home page and follow the process to reset your password

Buy electricity and pay accounts online from 19 December 2019


In 1994 Middelburg and Mhluzi, as well as Hendrina and Kwazamokuhle amalgamated to form the Transitional Local Councils. In 2001, a new dispensation for Local Government came into being, whereby the country was demarcated so that every piece of land fell within the jurisdiction of a municipality. The number of local governments were also reduced and the Transitional Local Councils of Middelburg and Hendrina, as well as some smaller towns, were amalgamated. A new municipality was formed, namely Steve Tshwete Local Municipality. The municipal area covers approximately 3993 square kilometers and includes the following towns:

Middelburg, Mhluzi, Hendrina, Kwazamokuhle, Rietkuil, Pullenshope, Komati, Presidentsrus, Naledi, Lesedi, Kranspoort, Blinkpan, Koornfontein, Kwamakalane, Doornkop.

This is a category B municipality comprising of 58 councillors of whom 29 are ward representatives and 29 proportional representatives. The executive Mayor assisted by 6 members of the Mayoral Committee, the Speaker and the Chief Whip heads the municipality. The Municipal Manager heads the administration.


The population is estimated at 229 831 citizens in terms of 2011 census. The majority lives in the town of Middelburg and Mhluzi whilst others reside in smaller towns - Hendrina, Kwazamokuhle and mining and other villages as well as in vast rural areas.





Legislation & Documents


Speeches & Statements





Request For Proposals

Agenda & Minutes

Media Release



Property Valuations

STLM Online Service


Documents for download are in Acrobat (PDF) format. Click the icon to download.

Time of use (Tou) tariffs (2018/2019)

Time of use (Tou) tariffs (2017/2018)

Central Supplier Database

Pay Points

View SMS messages in a new Tab